SUMMIT!

18 07 2009

Hello ALL!!!  I summitted Katahdin today!!!!!!!!! I left from Katahdin Springs campground at  6:30am and topped at 9:30am, 5.2 miles, 5,267 ft later. Then I hung around for a while, hiked a bit of The Knife Edge, and left around 12 noon and came to the bottom at 2:50pm. I got a ride with Panama Red and his dad to Millinocket, where I’m staying at a hostel tonight. Cousin Russ is coming tomorrow to pick me up and then Cousin Jim will drive me to Middlebury Sunday.

More details to come: the rest of Maine, the 100 mile wilderness, crazy mile days, amazing trail magic and finishing the most amazing journey ever.

But for now, I’m chuzzillin and going back to the hostel to relax!!!!

-EKG

’08 SOBO Franconia Notch -> GA

’09 NOBO Franconia Notch -> ME

Actions

Information

One response

29 07 2009
bearwalker

Yahooooo!!!! Congrates are in order EKG!!!! Wasnt Katahdin a pretty awesomely mountain!

Leave a Reply

